Penalties And Consequences Of A Sex Crime In Texas
Some people ask me “What is the penalty for sexual assault?”
Sexual assault is a second degree felony in Texas. Which means it’s punishable by not less than 2 years in prison, nor more than 20 years in prison, and up to a $10,000 fine, or both imprisonment and a fine.
Very importantly, it also carries consequences for sex offender registration. If you are convicted or placed on deferred adjudication probation for sexual assault, then that is classified as a sexually violent offense, and you will be required to register as a sex offender until you die.
I’m Bill Mange. I’m board certified in criminal law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.